12
Juil
10

Dehydrated

 

The ideal summer combo: sun and heat. It’s never been that hot. By never, I mean it’s unusual for us, québécois, to get more than 2 days of warm weather in July. Of course I’m pushing it a bit, but you get the idea.

With both the sunshine and high temperature working over time, I’ve been a very happy camper, to say the least. Riding my bike, reading in the shade on our deck, walking around in shorts and t-shirts. It may sound silly but when you have to deal with cold weather for months, you are thankful for those simple pleasures. And you wish it would stick around forever.

Tanning wise, I’m getting there. Got my 2 different shades on, like any avid cyclist, which I like to compare to chocolate: half of me is dark chocolate and the other half is white! Oh well, I avoid public beaches and mirrors anyway, so no worries!

On the down side, heatwave also calls for a lack of rain. Riding along the Rivière Rouge in the countryside around Tremblant is where you can really notice the effect of our dry July. As stunning as the river can be, it shows a different picture now; a sandy, dehydrated river, craving for water. I can hear it calling out for help: “I’m thirsty! Please, let it rain!”

Here is the river before and after:

                                    (I’ve never seen that many rocks; they usually hide underneath the water)

In my perfect world, it would rain in the evening or at night time and the sun would shine from 7am to 8pm. That would make for a sparkly river. Unfortunately, I’m not in charge…

A perfect combo for some and a struggle for others.

Weird world.

Mari-jo


4 Responses to “Dehydrated”


  1. 12 juillet 2010 à 10:26

    I like your suggestion… rain in evening and at night… sun from 7am to 8pm. Im glad youre getting to enjoy the summer days but it is a bummer to see the thirsty surroundings. It’s similar here. Green grass is now like straw. I’ll keep pulling for your suggestion though!

  2. 2 Michael Pratchard
    12 juillet 2010 à 5:45

    Wow, amazing pictures of the river! You can see where the Colorado River thru Glenwood Canyon recedes in the summer too. The cyclist’s tan is a dead give away of our sport! Stay hydrated and good riding MJo!

  3. 12 juillet 2010 à 11:58

    Enjoy the heat….I can never get too much of days like that. But like you said, in an ideal world it would rain at night with the days being beautiful and sunny…..and perfect for riding.

    Darryl

  4. 4 RaceG
    14 juillet 2010 à 7:29

    That would be the perfect timing for sun/rain! Beautiful landscapes indeed. Thanks for sharing Bella😉


Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
juillet 2010
L M M J V S D
« Juin   Août »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,607 hits

