Archive pour 2 juin 2010

02
Juin
10

27, Lac Desmarais.

Yesterday morning was pouring rain. In French-Can we say: il tombe des clous (nails). The French say: il tombe des cordes (ropes).

Nails, ropes, go figure!

Anyway, I had to postpone my ride. No big deal since my Tuesday is like your Saturday. What? A day off again? Yep.

At 3:30, as I looked outside, the sun was shining and the clouds had vanished.

Garmin kit, socks, shoes (first the left, then the right. Don’t ask, it’s just part of my routine! Same for the socks!), water bottles, gummie bears, helmet, glasses, phone.

All set. By 4, I was on Izzy. It was windy and the roads were very busy. 4 to 6 is rush hour here. Never a good idea to ride on my favourite country roads since everyone is heading home, driving their car (or truck, or pick-up) like there’s no tomorrow.

I figured I’d be better off in a quiet area; Lac Desmarais it is! It’s my hidden paradise; a few minutes from the old Tremblant village and Lac Mercier.

Four climbs, nice and safe downhills, great view, no houses. Well, there are houses, you just can’t see them. It’s a very private spot. Michael Douglas, yes, the famous actor, owns a propriety you know…)

Anyhow, sharing the roads with only a few very busy squirrels, a groundhog, butterflies  and maybe bears. Hmmmm, I prefer not to know about those, if you know what I mean!

Since I was alone, I went easy. Didn’t have to prove anything to anyone. That’s the joy of riding solo.

Lucky me, with my 27 cassette, I can climb without hurting my SI joint or my back. By without hurting, I mean not getting the situation worse. You see, riding pain-free is not something I experience. Aches and pains are part of the deal! My teammates I could say!

To my surprise, I sticked to my plan; no pushing, just go up and enjoy that undemanding 27. So I did!

Today was warm, sunny but sooooo windy. My legs were heavy and I couldn’t turn them as smoothly as usual. My back was sore after 15 minutes. I did not panic, just had to change my itinerary and cut short. Again, I wasn’t disappointed. Not at all. Just happy to get another ride in, and a few more climbs under my belt!

My writing and reading afternoon plans also went out the window; I decided that it was time to add some colour to our deck. Not by painting but by buying some flowers for my empty and rather sad pots.

Green, pink, purple, et le tour est joué! The front door and the back terrace finally came back to life!

Mari-jo




Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

juin 2010
L M M J V S D
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Blog Stats

  • 10 927 hits