19
Mai
10

The eyes

Sunshine and warm weather has arrived in Quebec, yesss!  I still can’t believe it: no arm warmers, no knee warmers for the last 3 rides. My sexy cyclist tan is starting to show!

Leaves are growing, lilacs are smelling, flowers are blooming, rivers are running. It’s like an explosion out here! Green, pink, white, purple, yellow. Life is starting all over again!

I’m back on my roads. Going solo most of the time this week because Pat has been away in Montreal and in the Eastern Townships; meetings and taking care of his new projects.

As much as I love going with Pat, I also appreciate going by myself. I don’t need a partner to motivate me to get on my bike. Never did. Never will. I just need decent weather and some time!

This season, more than ever before, I’ve been very thankful for every ride. Taking the time to appreciate the country side where I live, taking pictures of my striking surroundings: a new horse that I’ve never seen before, a house that I really like, an old barn… I could, like I’ve always done in the past, go “all out” and complain about the miserable pavement situation, or even about the crazy car and pick-up drivers. Of course I could! That would be meaningless though.

Instead, I have decided to focus on what I’m seeing, what I’m passing by while I’m pedaling, with brand new eyes.

The eyes of someone who’s having to deal with unwanted and redundant set backs.

The eyes of someone who’s coming back to life every single time she gets on her new Italian bike.

Thanks again for reading! Leaving you with a few pics…

Mari-jo

(Cute house on rue Coupal)

(ready for take off?)

(The joy of new pavement; soooo smooth!)

(Look carefully and you’ll see a baby horse with his mommy!)

(You know me, my post wouldn’t be complete without my Quick!)

(Wow, look at the shape of that tennis ball!)


3 Responses to “The eyes”


  1. 19 mai 2010 à 7:44

    Love this entry – this is how we should ride all the time. Nothing better than appreciation for the ride.

  2. 2 John Chappell
    20 mai 2010 à 10:57

    You are such a nice person Mari-jo…I truly enjoy reading your blog and yes, it does make me smile. The world would be a nicer place if more people were like you.

  3. 21 mai 2010 à 7:50

    So True! One of my favorite quotes from a movie: « Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once and awhile, you could miss it. »
    Great pics. Thanks for sharing your beautiful surroundings!


Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
mai 2010
L M M J V S D
« Avr   Juin »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Blog Stats

  • 10,607 hits

