27
Mar
10

B-day boy, B-day ride

 Thursday March 25th

When Pat opened his eyes that morning, he was a year older.  Yep, it happens once a year to all of us! Now together for nearly 5 years, we  never  had the pleasure of riding our bikes on his birthday. Generally way to cold and way too much snow up here. But this year has been different. By different I mean better. By better I mean warmer. Sooooo thankful for early spring!

Oddly, except for yesterday and today (-10°C, 14°F), it has been unusually nice outside. Perfect for an early season start. Like I said in a previous post, we typically start mid April in VA or in Asheville, NC. But never in Tremblant.

So what better way to celebrate a birthday than heading out for a bike ride… with your brilliant girlfriend (reading into Pat’s mind now)? We decided to go for a short ride. Like Pat’s father always says when he plays golf: “We’re not here for a long time, we’re here for a good time”!

The wind, my friends, was having a blast. Blowing like there was no tomorrow. Powerful, strong, cold. Head wind, of course, what else. I even got scared when I heard a giant truck coming. Thought I’d be history when that 18 wheel terrifying engine passed me. “Gone with the wind” would then have been more appropriate.

Luckily, I had my George Hincapie in front of me. First ride of the season and Pat is already saving me, euh, I mean pulling me! What a gentleman…We ended up turning left sooner because of that cold-hearted wind. We got to the covered bridge and took the 327 towards Tremblant and suddenly, everything changed: believe it or not, the wind decided to be our mate. Isn’t a tailwind an incredible sensation? I felt I was flying behind Pat’s wheel. Struggling to keep up 10 minutes prior to that, I was now turning my legs fluently, feeling light and powerful at the same, enjoying the big ring again! Totally different experience. A reward we don’t often get on the bike.

We got home, satisfied and mostly grateful for that first bonus ride of the season together. Who knows, maybe it will even become a tradition? Early season certainly gets my vote!

A few pics: if you look closely, you will see the top of Tremblant in the background.                                

Bon week-end,

Mari-jo


4 Responses to “B-day boy, B-day ride”


  1. 27 mars 2010 à 4:47

    Always *love* the tailwind! Happy Birthday (belated, sorry) to your dear one!🙂

  2. 27 mars 2010 à 7:20

    you’re very lucky to have someone to block the wind for you (in more ways that one!). nice🙂

  3. 3 Peter M
    27 mars 2010 à 7:33

    Sounds like it was a great Birthday… too bad the Birthday present is still enroute…

  4. 4 John Chappell
    27 mars 2010 à 10:48

    Another smile for me reading your blog…that’s my bonus! I’m glad you two got to ride together so early this year!


Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
mars 2010
L M M J V S D
« Fév   Avr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,607 hits

