17
Mar
10

Today, I got to ride!

Last night, around 5pm. Mont-Tremblant, Canada

Pat says to me:

– Since I changed the cassette (cog) on your old Felt, I could also put my wheels on it, in case you’d like to go for a ride tomorrow.

– What, are you serious? Yoohoo, please do it. Now!!

(We are still waiting for those 2 Italians; Izoard and CentoUno).

From that instant, I wanted the evening to just pass by, disappear. Let it be Wednesday, please, maintenant! First ride of the season is always very exciting! The end of winter, a genuine relieve. 4 months of cold weather can be really hard on you. Really.

Surprisingly, slept ok. And, in the early morning, I had a dream about a girl, riding a black bicycle…

6:05  Hello morning!

10:oo  27°F. Ouch, too cold. Frost on my car. Waited a while.

11:30 Nearly up to 40°F, in the sun. Ok, let’s do it Mari-jo!

Deciding on what to wear and mostly, how many layers to put on was tricky.

Can you tell that I’ve got 3 layers underneath my jacket, including a thermal jacket? As long as I can breathe and move well, it’s all good! It can get cool when there are still snow banks on the roads.

Took forever to get ready, running around, trying to find my stuff… and Pat’s warm shoe cover. (Let’s keep that to ourselves, deal?)

12:10 All dressed (I sound like a  pizza), ready to go.

12:12 Red Tercel cuts me off. Got nothing against Toyota (some of you might though!), but give me a chance here.

12:20 Lower back and right hip are starting to hurt. Nothing new, just same old pain.

12:21  On the 323 towards Brébeuf, cars are passing me by, going fast, giving me that angry look, like I’m in their way. You know, the usual for us, cyclists!

Today, I couldn’t care less about those reckless drivers.

Couldn’t care less about  that lower back or hip pain. Or that tough headwind.

I wasn’t looking for a fight. Wasn’t up for a struggle. Didn’t expect to be powerful and pain free.

I was way over all that. I just kept on turning my legs. In and out of the saddle. Felt like I was just flying away.

I even smiled at a guy that looked like a serial killer, driving one of those huge pick-ups at 100 miles an hour, in a 90km speed limit zone.

Today, I was just happy to be riding my bicycle again.

Nothing, nobody would get me annoyed, irritated or angry.  

On a Wednesday afternoon, it was sunny outside and even though it was a bit chilly, I got to ride my bike again. That says it all!

(By the way, totally in love with Pat’s wheels! Want them. Need them.)

I had to stop and chat with the horses on my way back. Such good listeners!

À bientôt,

Mari-jo


5 Responses to “Today, I got to ride!”


  1. 17 mars 2010 à 5:23

    Awesome….Feels so good doesn’t it? Today’s weather for me was even warmer than yesterday, but there was a killer wind. It was 15 C today with a 33 kph wind. But great to be out there. Congratulations on your first of the year.

  2. 2 Rickie Rainwater
    17 mars 2010 à 7:36

    Yippeeee! Way to go Mari Jo! I will take my first ride in a week tomorrow. It seems everywhere I go, someone has a cold virus and I try to keep from getting exposed, but always do. Tomorrow I purchase my Scott CR1 Pro frameset. I am shipping it to my friend in North Carolina so I won’t have to pay an additional 158 dollars in State Taxes. The frame is already astronomically expensive. It will give me plenty of reasons to work hard. Have a wonderful week!

  3. 3 Peter Matalon
    17 mars 2010 à 9:17

    Awesome…boy am I glad I live in the warmth…and if your layered like that I can’t imagine what I would need to wear… Glad you got a chance to spin the legs even if it wasn’t on Izzy….I know what you mean with the aches and pains…amazing after a little work how it all goes away…amazing machine the body is huh?…anyway…congrats again and see you for coffee in the morning….

  4. 4 John Chappell
    17 mars 2010 à 11:15

    I am so happy you got to ride today! Love that kit too!

  5. 5 John Chappell
    18 mars 2010 à 10:54

    By the way, next time I go out..I will be sure and take my camera and get some horse pics for you!


Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
mars 2010
L M M J V S D
« Fév   Avr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,607 hits

