18
Jan
10

Inside a massage therapist’s head

Thanks to the Twitter feedback, I decided to create a new category inside my cycling blog : massage therapy. I’ve been a therapist for nearly 9 years now. As you can imagine, I got lots of fascinating stories! Unfortunately for you guys, confidentiality is the magic word here! Ah, ah!

However, there are so many fascinating aspects to discuss on that subject. Where to start is my biggest challenge. While some of you may get a massage once a week, or once a month, others had never even tried one yet. I decided to take the easy way out and go with the “random thoughts” concept!  

 A)   Power VS Surrender

You can’t imagine how sometimes giving a massage can be like trying to win a fight!

As long as my client is staying in control, not letting his guard down, focusing only on how hard I’m going, and managing the outcome, he is resisting my efforts. With these expectations, he will get no benefits. Can’t give if he’s not willing to let go. Basic equation.

May seem obvious but in my everyday practice, it’s not! People are often living at a 100 miles an hour; working crazy hours, raising kids, working out, getting a ride in during lunch or before dinner…Know what I mean? So the simple concept of letting go is often far from reality. Understandable.

But (yes there is a but!), when a client decides to get an appointment for a massage, if he’s able to put all of his « drive » aside (strong personality if you prefer!) and let me do my thing, my way, that’s when he’ll earn the most benefits. And for his muscle tissues, a real investment.

 So, a quick recap: once you get on that comfy table, say goodbye to the power struggle of your daily routine. Trust, surrender, give away your supremacy (wow, sounds like  Jason Bourne is loosing it…) and only then, the therapist  can  jump in and do his work. Letting either relaxation or deep work happen. Not making it, huge difference. Can’t force that.

 Guys, it’s Monday, you got all week to book one, go ahead and enjoy!

Mjo


4 Responses to “Inside a massage therapist’s head”


  1. 18 janvier 2010 à 12:28

    you have me pegged. about the only massage I can let go in is a Thai massage (no jokes here, either). something about the stripping away of the traditional American, puffed-up, pampered massage experience is a good thing for my overactive mind. I just flop like a fish on their futons and let them work their magic. ahhh….I love it!

  2. 2 Rickie Rainwater
    18 janvier 2010 à 6:52

    I wanted to respond earlier today, but my blackberry couldn’t handle it for some reason. I can’t wait for my next deep tissue massage as all my tension has gone to my shoulders. To bad I don’t live close or I would schedule a massage with you. I’m sure your very good. I find a good massage by a skilled therapist is very benificial to my over all training and sometimes my emotional health as well. Thank goodness for good massage therapist.

  3. 3 février 2010 à 11:43

    I have a session with my massage therapist scheduled for Friday…1.5hrs…it usually takes me the 1st 30 minutes to let myself go and relax. Can’t wait!

  4. 14 avril 2010 à 12:43

    I agree completely. There is a technique called Craniosacral Therapy that can help clients who who have trouble switching from sympathetic to parasympathetic nervous system response. I specialize in this technique but there are therapists all over the world who do this work also. To refer a client out for other modalities can be extremely helpful and they are usually sure to return to you for more deep work when they are more ready for it.


Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
janvier 2010
L M M J V S D
« Déc   Fév »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Blog Stats

  • 10,607 hits

