05
Déc
09

Like a lifesaver

I’m on my bike. Pat is next to me.

It’s warm and sunny. All is good. So far!

We’re going pretty fast though.

Pat seems to be in great spirits. I’m sure he thinks we’re just cruising around.

We still have at least 15 km to go.

I can feel he wants to finish strong. He always does. I usually do too.

But now, the wind is picking up, turning against us, blowing right in our faces. Stiff and cold.

And to make it worse, on this section of the 327 towards Mont-Tremblant, the road is flat. I hate flats. Hurts my lower back.

Then, it hits me. I’m totally out of fuel, paying for the couple of sprints that I have won earlier on the ride. What was victory then is now transforming into a total lack of energy. Lack of judgement too. Plain stupid.

What a waste!

No way that I can keep up with Pat. My heartbeat is rising. Never a good sign!

Don’t want to tell him to slow down. Shame- pride-humiliation. All of the above. 

Oh nooo, I don’t want to be dropped…Please stay! 

In an instant, as I’m loosing fate in myself, my mind is taking over my entire body. Clic. The survivor switch is off. Done.

The first stage of defeat. Psychological defeat that is.

Pafff. The wall.

It. Hurts. So. Much.

I’ve got tears running out of my eyes, overwhelmed by negative thoughts.

I know he knows. He’s still on my left side.

He looks at me, but doesn’t say anything. He accelerates just for a second and goes in front of me. Without any hesitation, I take his wheel.

I’m not alone anymore. I’ve just been saved!

Like a gentleman, he safely pulls* me home.

Mjo

* To pull: in cycling, it means to act like a human screen for the rider behind you. If done right, you can actually save up to 30% of your energy by sitting on someone’s wheel. It can be an awesome experience when the rider in front is a smooth cyclist!

Merci Coachpat for all the pulling you do for me!


0 Responses to “Like a lifesaver”



  1. Laisser un commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
décembre 2009
L M M J V S D
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,607 hits

