18
Nov
09

In love with Levi’s Gran Fondo!

I’m sooo in love with Levi Leipheimer’s  King Ridge GranFondo! Here I am, at home in cold Mont-Tremblant  Canada,  and I just can’t stop thinking about it! I’ve been reading so many posts about it the past few weeks and went through hundreds of pics. It just sounds like and amazing journey!

First, I got to specify that anything involving California, for a French Canadian, sounds awesome. You know, the sun, the beach, the surf. But Northern California seems to have so much more to offer: the coast, Redwood Forest, the vineyards, Santa Rosa…and the challenging King Ridge!

For those of you who aren’t cyclists and have no clue what I’m talking about, let me help you here:

  1. Levi who? Levi Leipheimer is an American pro cyclist, long time teammate and friend of Lance Armstrong.
  2.    Gran Fondo? A long distance road cycling event for cyclists of all abilities (an Italian tradition).
  3.    Levi’s GranFondo? 3500 cyclists enjoying the beautiful hilly terrain of Northern  California for a 1 day event.  Click on this link for the video of the first edition, October 2009: (please, watch it all, gotta see those gorgeous coastal switch backs towards the end to really get the feeling of it all!)  http://www.levisgranfondo.com/
  4.     The event raises money for 2 causes: http://forgetmenotfarm.org/
  5.       http://www.keepthetour.com/

Ok now, you all know what I’m talking about!

I’m telling you, there’s something magical about those roads… Closing my eyes, I can see myself pedaling effortless, surrounded by striking mountains, astounding views and hundreds of happy cyclists.

Sure hope I can make it there next year. Wouldn’t want to miss it again!

Sonoma County, can’t wait to meet you!

Mjo

PS Even the lemonade stand looks cool!


0 Responses to “In love with Levi’s Gran Fondo!”



  1. Laisser un commentaire

Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
novembre 2009
L M M J V S D
« Oct   Déc »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Blog Stats

  • 10,607 hits

