18
août
10

Brain VS guts

 

I get up this morning and all I can see is fog. Big thick fog. I know it’s usually followed by blue sky but I can’t see any blue just yet. I’ve completed day 3 off the bike. 3 long days. Feels like an eternity. Like when you first fall in love with someone and you don’t see your new love for 1 full day… Yep, an eternity. The only good thing about it is that by staying off the bike, I’ve got less laundry to do!

Repeating the key word in my mind: temporary.

The last few days have been pretty rough on me.  My sacro-iliac joint decided, again, that she’s had enough pedaling for the summer and has called for a break. I say again because she does that little trick of hers every 2 months or so. She had the decency to give me a few signs before quitting, but like any passionate cyclist, I pretended not to understand her words. You know what a good dose of endorphins do to you, right? Makes your brain dizzy. Makes the pain in your quads disappear. Makes you happy. And makes you crave for more!

So lately, I’ve added a few extra intervals on the big chain ring, preparing for my 24hour coming up in September. Well, it was one too many I guess. I was just having fun with my heart. I could hear my gluteus and back screaming but the fun I was having with my heart made me ignore the rest. And since my muscles, because of some other serious issue, can never fully recover, I’m now paying for that lack of self control.

My daily drill has been pretty boring: ice, rest, avoid walking, lay on back, no sitting at the computer for more than 30 minutes at a time, no lifting, and of course no biking. Repeat for 2 to 15 days (!!). That recommendation would make a couch potato joyful but makes me more on down side. Imagine:  no bike, no computer time. Makes any sane girl go nuts!

Now, after day 3, it’s time for me to get back on the bike and slowly turn the legs. No big chain ring. No resistance training. No intervals. No big fun. Just turn those legs. Easy spin. Gotta play smart if I want to come back strong. Pedaling with my brain, not with my guts. 30 to 45 minute spin, not more than that. Self control, for once.

Gotta stick by those rules for a couple of days. And in the best case scenario, at the end of this week, I’ll get to change those rather boring rules and have some fun again!

Mari-jo

7 Responses to “Brain VS guts”


  1. 1 Tim
    18 août 2010 à 8:05  

    been there done that – had similiar issue in July – completely messed up my training schedule

    get well soon

  2. 2 Michael Pratchard
    18 août 2010 à 8:33  

    Mari-Jo,
    If there is an upside to your persistent injury (which there never is) it’s that you have more time to write these superb blog posts! You’re wise following the "pedaling with your brain" credo, it wins every time. Hope you’re back on the bike soon!
    MP

  3. 18 août 2010 à 10:43  

    Easy spin IS big fun : )

  4. 4 Michelle Smith
    18 août 2010 à 2:41  

    Had the same issues after a running injury last year…sometimes the hardest thing is to hold back and let yourself recover, when all you want to do is get out there again…good luck!

  5. 5 RaceG
    18 août 2010 à 2:44  

    My heart goes out to you Bella. I know how you must feel but you got to be strong. Although I really think I would be in a worst mental state than you are right now… Be patient my friend and everything will fall into place. ;-) Muah!!

  6. 18 août 2010 à 9:14  

    Great dedication and determination. I really do hope you become as pain free as possible so that you can do that which you love. You deserve it, my friend.

    Darryl

  7. 27 août 2010 à 11:23  

    M-Jo, I was pondering this entry for a long time. My first instinct was to just jump in and comment when you first posted, and then I thought – HOLD – I don’t know what you are going through!!
    How could I give advise or console? I can’t – that is the only honest answer I can give. BUT – WAIT!! – I can admire, yes, I can admire the determination, the drive and the passion, and THAT inspires me..thanks for sharing.


Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
août 2010
L Ma Me J V S D
« juil   sept »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blog Stats

  • 10,261 hits

Suivre

Recevez les nouvelles publications par mail.

