23
fév
10

Cycling memories

(Version française au bas de la page)

My first serious bike was a Trek WSD 6500. Yes, a mountain bike. A Weird colour; orange. With my tennis background, I did not know much about bikes. At the time, more than 10 years ago, I was working in a ski & bike shop on the resort, in Tremblant. Staff price. I figured “why not?  Cost, minus 20% seems like a pretty decent deal!” It was indeed an excellent price.

That summer, I went for a few night rides with the boys after closing the shop. I was definitely out of my comfort zone and a bit nervous. Ok, petrified! Narrow trails, rocks, branches, jumps, sharp turns, abrupt climbs, steep downhills. I kept falling. Bruises everywhere on my legs. I did not look good. The rides were challenging and not fun. Not to me anyway.

One night, they decided to go up the mountain. Just so you know, Tremblant is 2871 feet, the highest peak in the Laurentians. I wasn’t prepared for that. I had not idea what I was getting myself into either. We started at the bottom of the hill and took the Nansen. They said it would take up to 1 hour. I didn’t think much of it in the beginning.

After 10 minutes into the climb, I realized how far I was from the summit and how fast my heart was beating. Out of breath and at least 50 minutes of climbing to go. Crazy. Everything felt heavy: my legs, my shoulders, my back. Couldn’t get into a rhythm. I was barely moving. Slow motion was my speed. That was just not for me. I put my right foot on the ground and said to the guy in front of me:

          -I’m done. I’m going home. See ya.

 That was it. Thanks but no thanks! I turned around and headed back down. A few seconds later, that same guy was next to me, telling me to comeback.

        –  But why? I can’t. I just can’t. Let me go.

The truth was simple: I didn’t want to do it. Didn’t have the guts to suffer that much.

        –  Why do you even care?

        –   Because I know you can do this. I’ll stay with you the entire way if I need to. Common, let’s go. Take my wheel.

I was speechless. I couldn’t understand why he cared. I didn’t even know him that much. But he seemed determined not to let me get out of this one. He was holding my handlebars.

So I turned around and took his wheel. Slowly, we worked our way up, together, like a team. He kept cheering me on, telling me I was doing great, that we’d be there soon. I couldn’t respond, had no energy to spear, obviously! As I was running out of fuel, he gave me his Power Bar. He kept me hydrated too.

We even caught some of the other guys. At that point, I realized that I was going to make it, no matter what! Finally, I was able to see the summit. Couldn’t feel my body anymore. Overwhelmed by the beauty of my surroundings. Outstanding views. Mountains everywhere. “I’ve made it.” 55 minutes. Less than an hour! Felt like I could, from now on, achieve anything! So proud of myself.

By not letting me down that day, my new friend gave me inner strength, confidence, focus and determination. A new beginning for me, a breakthrough. Thanks to him, I discovered the subtlety of cycling: climbing. And most important, the instant bounding when one is fortunate enough to share the experience with a pal.

La première fois

 Un Trek WSD 6500. Eh oui, un vélo de montagne. Orange brûlé, plutôt affreux. Il y a de ça déjà plus de dix ans. À cette époque, je ne connaissais pas grand-chose au cyclisme. Travaillant comme vendeuse-caissière dans une boutique de ski et de vélo, je pouvais profiter d’un « prix staff » assez avantageux : prix coûtant, moins 20%. Pas pire en effet! Je l’ai d’ailleurs vendu 5 ans plus tard au même prix, chuuut!

Mes premières sorties avec les gars, en début de soirée, furent loin d’être mémorables. Très nerveuse, embêtée par de nombreux obstacles et par un relief montagneux, je n’arrivais pas à suivre : sentiers étroits, marge de manœuvre minuscule, roches, racines, branches, sauts, tournants en épingle, montées abruptes et descentes suicidaires. Je tombais tout le temps, les pieds emprisonnés dans mes pédales. Cet été là, mes jambes reluisaient de bleus. Pas joli du tout. Définitivement hors de  ma zone de confort. Rien en commun  avec cette gang de malades!

Puis, un soir, un parcours différent : monter la montagne, Tremblant, par la Nansen. 2871 pieds; le plus haut sommet des Laurentides. Aucunement préparée mentalement, sans expérience en montée, une vraie roockie! Selon eux, ça prendrait environ 1 heure. Eh bien pourquoi pas? Je ne savais vraiment pas dans quoi je m’embarquais.

Après 10 minutes, le rythme cardiaque « dans l’tapis », j’ai réalisé à quel point le sommet était loin. À bout de souffle et encore 50 minutes de pure souffrance au menu! Débile. Mes jambes tournaient à peine. Mon dos, mes épaules, mon cou me faisaient mal. Aucun rythme. J’avançais… au ralenti. Ridicule. 

-         J’arrête. C’est trop difficile. Je m’en retourne en bas. Bye.

La fin de mon calvaire. Pu le goût d’être là et de m’arracher le coeur. J’avais d’autres choses à faire. Merci, mais non merci! Puis, en moins de deux, le gars est revenu me chercher.

-         Reviens, je vais t’aider.

-         Pourquoi? C’est l’enfer. Je ne suis pas capable.

La vérité était simple : je ne voulais même pas essayer. Je n’avais pas le courage de souffrir tant que ça. Pas le guts d’endurer ça pendant 1 heure.

-         Qu’est-ce que ça peut te faire à toi si je lâche?

-         J’insiste parce que je sais que tu peux réussir. Je vais rester avec toi. Allez, prends ma roue.

Le plus drôle c’est que je ne le connaissais pas vraiment. Une connaissance plutôt qu’un ami… Jusqu’à cette ride!

Tranquillement, sans quitter sa roue, un lacet, puis un autre. Il ne cessait de m’encourager, me disait qu’on y était presque. Incapable d’ouvrir la bouche pour lui répondre, concentrée à économiser mon énergie, je fixais sa roue, pour ne pas voir ce qui me restait à grimper. Mais, quand on a rattrapé les gars qui nous précédaient, j’ai réalisé que j’allais vraiment me rendre en haut. Puis, en levant les yeux, j’ai finalement vu le sommet. Je ne ressentais plus mon corps. Des montagnes à perte de vue. Un paysage à couper le souffle. 55 minutes. Moins d’une heure!  Surprise mais tellement fière.

Ce jour-là, j’ai découvert ce qu’était la détermination. À 875 mètres d’altitude, une confiance en moi s’est installée. Et, grâce à la générosité d’un cycliste expérimenté, j’ai découvert une nouvelle passion.  Depuis, je prends plaisir à rouler et surtout, à grimper. Rendue en haut, toute souffrance est instantanément évaporée.

Mari-jo

8 Responses to “Cycling memories”


  1. 1 Rickie Rainwater
    23 février 2010 à 8:30  

    Now that was a great article. It reminded me of climbing the Medicine Bow Mountains in Wyoming. Especially the mountains that come after Yellow Stone Park. I thought I was going to die. I love telling that story and sharing other stories of our ride across Wyoming and part of Colorado on Mountain Bikes. Definitely something to remember. Thanks again. Hug that Dog!

  2. 23 février 2010 à 8:41  

    Great story and very inspiring! Might have to start calling you coachmarijolamarche!

  3. 23 février 2010 à 10:08  

    Your story had me mashing the pedals up that mountain with you guys. Great story of encouragement and drive!
    Reminds me of one of my favorite cycling quotes. It’s from the book "Need For The Bike" by Paul Fournel:

    “It’s yourself you’re climbing. If you don’t want to know, stay at the bottom.”

  4. 23 février 2010 à 10:49  

    Thanks Marji, I’m glad I was able to inspire you to create such a wonderful article. It’s going to be hard, but I’m going to try and take a few sections out of it to use in my "Look who’s Loving the Bike" article on Monday. I’ll be using other pieces of it in future articles as well.
    Nice job…very nice.

  5. 5 Carol
    24 février 2010 à 3:37  

    Great story, and great friend to stay with you, as promised, to help you to the top.

  6. 26 février 2010 à 1:35  

    Wow, that was great. A very inspiration, motivational cycling story. I too started out on a mountain bike but never did anything like that. I’m not sure I’ve ever done anything like that on a road bike. Thanks for sharing.

  7. 1 mars 2010 à 10:10  

    That’s something I adore about athletes; most of them really WANT you to come along for the ride, the more the merrier! It sounds like a fabulous ride and an inspiring view. Thanks for sharing your story of making it to the top with a friend who urged you on.


Laisser un commentaire

Catégories

Archives

Flickr Photos

Plus de photos
février 2010
L Ma Me J V S D
« jan   mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Blog Stats

  • 10,246 hits

Suivre

Recevez les nouvelles publications par mail.

